I Love You Man

I just saw the movie “I Love You Man”, and it was surprisingly good.  I haven’t laughed so hard in a movie theater in quite some time.

The movie’s main plot revolves around a guy who’s getting married, who has a lot of female friends, but not a lot of guy friends, who goes out to find himself some guy friends so he can have a best man for his wedding.

The movie was hilarious, and I found myself relating a lot to the main protagonist.  Looking at my own relationships, I have a lot more close female friends than I do guy friends.  Just today I went out to eat lunch with one of my close female friends, and I’ve gone out dancing with at least three different female friends in the past week.

I don’t like sports, I don’t consider myself very loud and raucous, and I don’t do a lot of stereotypically “male” activities.  Maybe it’s because of a childhood growing up with my mom and my sister, because my dad was never around, and because my dad was such a poor role-model that I wanted to be nothing like him when I grew up.  Or maybe it’s because I somehow picked up through social conditioning that acting masculine and sexual is somehow “wrong”.

Whatever the reason, I can relate a lot to the caricatured portrayal of a man with no strong male relationships, as portrayed in the movie.  Being a man raised by women, and unsure of the proper way to be a man, and how to express one’s masculinity is also a common theme within the PUA community.

How does the modern man behave?  What is his relationship with women, and with other men?  How does he balance his masculinity, with his respect for femininity?  These are some of the questions I have been asking myself, and it was good to be reminded of them in this great movie.

Leave a Reply

